The Dumaresq-Barwon Border Rivers Commission (the BRC) was constituted under the provisions of the New South Wales-Queensland Border Rivers Agreement made on 27 August 1946.

It was established by the New South Wales and Queensland Governments to operate and maintain jointly “owned” water infrastructure and implement agreed water sharing arrangements in the Queensland-New South Wales border region.